At PUL Annual Awards Ceremony, President George Weah Re-assures The Media Of His Government Commitment To Freedom Of The Press


President George Weah has recommitted his government drive to the promotion of freedom of Speech and of the Press.

The Liberian leader speaking Friday evening at the 2018/2019 edition of the Press Union of Liberia Awards night ceremony said his government realizes the important role the media played in the democratic process of the society as such it is key for the fourth estate to be recognized for their work and countless sacrifices made across the Country.

President Weah at the same time encouraged the media to see the need in reporting the truth which he noted will send a positive image about the Country to the globe.

He re-assured the media of his complete support to its activities void of any favor in returns.

Dr. Weah said his recent offer to the Press Union of Liberia remains unchanged and challenged the PUL President Charles Coffey to take advantage of such opportunity in their interest of the media sector.

He said a vibrant press served as a cornerstone to a healthy and more functioning   democracy.

President Weah speaking at the Paynesville Town Hall on August 9, 2019 promised to at all time work in the confines of the Law of the Country and called on all Liberians to do same in the best interest of maintaining the Country’s peace process.

He said the promotion of a functioning democracy lies within the quality output of Liberia’s media sector noting that it is time for all Liberians to come on board to help build the Country.

“It is only through unity and togetherness, we can move Liberia forward”, he indicated.

President Weah making special remarks at the PUL Awards ceremony commended honorees of the 2018/2019 PUL awards for their professional and outstanding work done over the period for which they were recognized among their colleagues and use the occasion to encourage them including their fellow colleagues to be truthful and balanced in their reportage.

The annual ceremony which ends the celebrations of the World Press Freedom Day usually honored and recognized professional and outstanding journalists for their exceptional media work done during the period under review among their colleagues.

Meanwhile this year’s award ceremony saw about forty journalists and media entities winning award including, Daily Observer as the Newspaper of the year, LNTV, Television station of the year, Prime Fm radio station of the year, KMTV online TV station of the year, Philip Wesseh won the all-time life achiever awards and Anthony Stephen of Power FM/TV Journalist of the year, including fifteen community radio stations that won awards in the community radio stations categories among others.

On the individual scene witnessed  Fabien Kwiah of ELBC as best newscaster of the year, Christopher Walker of Front Page Africa as Sports Journalist of the year, Bettie Johnson Mbayo of Front page Africa  as Gender Reporter of the year, Moses Garzeawu as Business Reporter of the year, Musa Kanneh of Truth Fm  as legislative reporter of the year, Anthony Stephen of Power fm/tv as both investigative and Development reporter of the year,  Julius Konton as executive mansion reporter of the year and ELBC’s Grand Bassa County Correspondent Simpson Davies as Humanitarian reporter of the year among others.



  1. Thanks Julius,
    I admire you so much but you need to make a little correction on your introduction beneath the story, your emphasis is not in Political Science rather Mass Communication (either Electronic or Print).Your special attention or importance during the course of your study was given to Mass communication.
    I hope this finds you well.
    Again, thanks for the great work!

  2. Thanks , I’ve just been searching for information about this topic for ages and yours is
    the best I have found out so far. However, what about the bottom
    line? Are you sure about the supply?

Comments are closed.