Liberia, Six African Nations Commit to Administer COVID-19 Antibody Tests


Liberia is among seven African nations that will begin administering coronavirus antibody tests as part of measures to understand the extent of the outbreak on the continent, the Africa Centres for Disease Control and Prevention announced on Thursday.

“Liberia, Sierra Leone, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Cameroon, Nigeria, Morocco are the first set of countries that committed to it,” John Nkengasong, head of the Africa CDC said at the organization’s weekly press conference.

An antibody test is a blood test to check if an individual has had COVID-19 before. The test which is different to the swab test to check if you have Coronavirus at the moment, has been administered before in other regions including the United States and parts of Europe as countries sought to better understand the disease.

According to Africa CDC, the continent has so far conducted 9.4 million coronavirus tests.

As of Thursday afternoon, the continent had reported 1,073,788 infections and 24,256 deaths, with Liberia recording 1,252 infections with a death 82.