WAFU/FOX under 20 draw sets for Monday.


The draw for the 2018 WAFU/FOX U-20 Youth Football Tournament will take place on today March 26, 2018 at the Samuel K Doe Sports Complex that is currently housing the Sport Ministry of Youth and Sports.
The WAFU Nations Cup is an association football competition that is contested by representative teams of the West African Football Union.
WAFU months ago selected Liberia to host the WAFU / FOX U-20 Youth Tournament which is expected to run from April 24 to May 6, 2018.
In a communication to member associations, WAFU Secretary General Jammeh E.K. Bojang said the decision to host the tournament was based upon the advice of CAF because of the congested continental calendar.
According to the LFA, the WAFU / FOX U-20 tournament will feature WAFU member countries from Zone A, which includes:Liberia, Senegal, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Sierra Leone, Mali, Cape Verde and Mauritania.

The Secretary Generals of both WAFU Zones A and B Jammeh E.K. Bojang and Akan Malan arrived in Liberia on the 24th of March ahead of the draw.
Liberia Football Association president Musa Bility earlier on said Liberia was going to host the senior men team tournament of WAFU but that did not materialize due to several reasons ranging from game venues, practice pitches, Security and financial problems which prompted the tournament to take place in Ghana.
Since the 2016/2017 national league of Liberia came to an end in August of 2017, the FA has not close the league officially and is yet to announce a new date for the 2018 league something players, administrators and coaches have complained of because the sprite of the game is dying.
The last time the local national Team of Liberia won a trophy at WAFU was in 2015 when they finished the competition as runners up to host Senegal.
2011 Thomas Kojo guided the Junior Lone Star boys to the third place title after defeating Ghana 3-1.
Last year Liberia went out of the tournament on penalty shoot out to Senegal after full time ended goalless.

Courtesy of Christopher C.Walker.